Surplus charging

With the cFos Charging Manager and a solar system, you can make sure that your car is (almost (*)) only charged when solar surplus power is available. Surplus = generation minus household consumption.

Note: In order for charging rules to be observed, load management must be active, i.e. the mode must be set to "load distribution", not "observe".

You can set up a "Solar" type charging rule for this. Select "Solar surplus" as the mode. As "Start current limit", select the surplus current that the solar system is to generate from which this rule is to apply.

Screenshot cFos Charging Manager Documentation - Surplus charging

The rule: Solar, start current limit: 6.5 A(6500 mA), "solar surplus", this activates surplus charging with the available surplus from a feed-in of 6.5 A.

In addition, you can specify an undercut time, i.e. the number of seconds that the current limit may be undercut after activating the surplus rule before charging is stopped. In this way, charging is not interrupted in the event of short-term power drops, e.g. due to passing clouds.

You can read the solar surplus by setting up the virtual meter "Surplus (VM)" in the Charging Manager. Furthermore, you can set up a virtual meter "Grid Demand (VM)" that shows how much electricity is currently being drawn from the grid.

Tip: If your PV system no longer generates the minimum power required for charging in winter or in the transitional period, you can also specify a value below 6000mA as the start current limit. In this case, charging is carried out with solar surplus and partial use of the grid.

Tip: To ensure that your car is charged the next morning, you can specify a time-based rule in addition to the surplus rule: Time, Start: 21:00, End 6:00, Current 6000. I.e. if at night the car still needs electricity to be fully charged, you can either charge from the grid or from a storage.

The surplus electricity is the electricity that would be fed into the grid. To determine this, the cFos Charging Manager must be able to measure it. The following options are available for this:

Illustration of measurement concepts
  1. Either: Set up with a "mains supply" meter. You install a (bidirectional) meter at the transfer point of the house connection. If this meter shows negative values, you feed in and this electricity is available for surplus charging. Suitable meters are, for example, Modbus meters or internal grid reference meters of your solar system (e.g. SMA Homemanager 2.0, Kostal Power Meter, E3/DC grid reference meter, etc.). In order for the Charging Manager to be able to calculate the grid reference independently of the charging of the electric cars, a meter with the role "consumption electric car" must be configured for each EVSE in this configuration.
  2. Or: You measure your household consumption with a suitable meter without EVSE(s) and without the generation power. Simple S0 meters are sufficient for this. The Charging Manager then subtracts the household consumption from the generation power and makes the remaining power available for charging.

The generation power can be measured with an extra meter. Alternatively, you may be able to read the values from your solar system directly. Please refer to our list of currently supported devices.

(*) Due to measurement and calculation inaccuracies, a slight grid draw or feed-in may occur in the border area.

User report on surplus loading with Shelly 3EM (PDF)
User report on surplus charging with Solaredge

Balance surplus charging

If you know that the solar system can generate 4.2 kW of power or less, excess charging must be configured with a workaround. In this case, "balanced charging" is applied.

Note: Electric cars need at least 1.4 kW (i.e. 6 A) per phase to be able to charge. For three-phase charging, this results in 3*1.4 kW = 4.2 kW.

Below 4.2 kW solar power, you have to redistribute the power for charging from the three phases to one phase so that at least 1.4 kW is available on this phase. For example, if you feed 500 W of solar power on all phases, you can draw 1500 W on a single phase. Since the two-direction meters of the energy suppliers work on a balance sheet basis, mathematically there is neither grid draw nor feed-in.

Below 4.2 kW, you must therefore switch off two fuses with which the supply lines to the EVSE are protected (only not the one with which the cFos Power Brain Controller is protected). Caution: However, you must not switch individual phases on or off during the charging process. This can destroy the car's charging equipment! If you are not using a meter at the EVSE that can resolve individual phases, you should, if possible, inform the Charging Manager that the car is now charging in single phase by setting the configuration parameter "Phases" accordingly. With a meter that can resolve individual phases, you can leave the phase setting at "determine".

If you want to charge the car again later independently of the solar surplus, switch on the switched-off fuses before the charging process and deactivate the solar surplus charging rule in the Charging Manager. Then you can charge with the normal power.

Setting the "Phases" parameter

The cFos Charging Manager needs to know on which phases the car is charging (e.g. 1-phase or 3-phase), in order to

  • to be able to calculate the utilisation of the individual phases for load management, and
  • to decide when the minimum charging current per used phase is reached and charging is activated in case of solar excess charging.
If you have a meter attached to your wallbox, it is best to set it so that the phases used correspond to those of the electrical installation. With a wallbox that has a phase-resolving meter or to which such a meter is attached, you can set the phases to "Determine".

If the wallbox does not have a (possibly attached) meter with phase-by-phase resolution (e.g. cFos Power Brain with S0 meter, Tesla Wall Connector, etc.) and you always charge the same car, then you should set the phases to the way the car actually uses them. If you charge alternating cars, set the phases of the wallbox to "Determine". With "Determine", the cFos Charging Manager tries to determine the phases actually used. It usually knows whether the respective meter or the wallbox offers phase-by-phase resolution of the currents. E.g.: an S0 meter only provides pulses per kWh of total power and no values for the individual phases. Such a meter therefore measures the total power and allocates it to the set phases. From the wallbox's point of view, 1-phase charging cars always use phase L1 (even if this is installed phase-rotated with respect to the house grid). two-phase charging cars always charge on phases L1 and L2.

The "Phases" parameter set for the wallbox is also used to predict the phases actually used when a car is newly plugged in. When "Determine" is selected, the Charging Manager first assumes 1-phase charging and switches to 2-phase or 3-phase charging if necessary. After unplugging, the prediction starts again at 1-phase.

In the case of solar surplus charging of 3-phase charging cars, this has the consequence that the cFos Charging Manager starts charging too early with the forecast "1-phase" when the solar power increases. It then detects 3-phase use after a few seconds and pauses charging if the solar surplus is too low until enough power is available for surplus charging. For this to work, in the first 2 minutes of charging, the undercut time (which you can set in the charging rules) is limited to exactly 15 seconds. If you want to avoid this brief switching on, you can set the phases in the wallbox settings to the phases that are actually used. If the cars change, it is advisable to create RFIDs in the Charging Manager with the function "Overwrite phases" and use them to tell the Charging Manager which phases the car is charging with when the charging cable is plugged in.

Power reserve

The control in a power storage always tries to minimize the grid consumption and the grid injection. You can tell this to the cFos Charging Manager by setting up a meter with the role "solar storage". In this case, a discharging storage is considered a generator (the meter shows negative power values), which means that this energy is available to charge the car. However, a charging storage unit (the meter shows positive power values) is not considered a consumer because the storage unit stops charging immediately when the charging power is used for charging the electric car. The cFos Charging Manager therefore ignores the consumption of meters with the role "solar storage". You can choose between "Storage All" and "Storage Home" for the role of the storage meter. With "Storage Home", the discharge of the storage is not used for surplus charging, which avoids deep charging cycles of the storage. Here are some more options for using the meter.

If your electricity storage system does not have a bidirectional meter, you can install an external meter. Mostly, bidirectional Modbus meters are recommended, but it may also work with several S0 meters (or other unidirectional meters) depending on the arrangement of the meters in the installation, which has to be checked in each individual case.

Überschussladen

Mit dem cFos Charging Manager und einer Solaranlage können Sie dafür sorgen, dass Ihr Auto (fast (*)) nur geladen wird, wenn solare Überschussleistung zur Verfügung steht. Überschuss = Erzeugung minus Hausverbrauch.

Hinweis: Damit Laderegeln beachtet werden, muss das Lastmanagement aktiv sein, d.h. der Modus muss auf "Lastverteilung", nicht auf "beobachten" stehen.

Hierfür können Sie eine Laderegel vom Typ "Solar" einrichten. Als Modus wählen Sie "Solarüberschuss". Als "Start Stromlimit" wählen Sie den Überschuss-Strom, den die Solaranlage erzeugen soll, ab dem diese Regel gelten soll.

Screenshot cFos Charging Manager Dokumentation - Überschussladen

Die Regel: Solar, Start Stromlimit: 6,5 A (6500 mA), "Solarüberschuss", dadurch wird ab einer Einspeisung von 6,5 A das Überschussladen mit dem vorhandenen Überschuss aktiviert.

Zusätzlich können Sie eine Unterschreitungszeit angeben, d.h. die Anzahl der Sekunden, die nach Aktivieren der Überschussregel das Stromlimit unterschritten werden darf, bevor das Laden gestoppt wird. So wird das Laden nicht bei kurzfristigen Leistungseinbrüchen, wie z.B. durch vorüberziehenden Wolken, unterbrochen.

Sie können den solaren Überschuss ablesen, indem Sie im Charging Manager den virtuellen Zähler "Surplus (VM)" einrichten. Weiterhin können Sie einen virtuellen Zähler "Grid Demand (VM)" einrichten, der anzeigt, wieviel Strom gerade aus dem Netz gezogen wird.

Tip: Falls Ihre PV-Anlage im Winter oder in der Übergangszeit nicht mehr die zum Laden benötigte Mindestleistung erzeugt, können Sie als Startstromlimit auch einen Wert unterhalb von 6000mA angeben. Dann wird mit solarem Überschuss bei teilweisem Netzbezug geladen.

Tip: Um sicherzustellen, dass Ihr Auto am nächsten morgen geladen ist, können Sie zusätzlich zur Überschussregel eine zeitbasierte Regel angeben: Zeit, Start: 21:00, Ende 6:00, Strom 6000. D.h. wenn nachts das Auto noch Strom benötigt, um voll geladen zu werden, können Sie entweder aus dem Netz oder aus einem Speicher laden.

Der Überschuss-Strom ist der Strom, der ins Netz eingespeist werden würde. Um diesen zu ermitteln, muss der cFos Charging Manager ihn messen können. Hierzu gibt es folgende Möglichkeiten:

Abbildung Messkonzepte
  1. Entweder: Einrichten mit einem Zähler "Netzbezug". Sie installieren einen (bidirektionalen) Zähler am Übergabepunkt des Hausanschluss. Wenn dieser Zähler negative Werte anzeigt, speisen Sie ein und dieser Strom steht dem Überschussladen zur Verfügung. Als Zähler eignen sich z.B. Modbus-Zähler oder interne Netzbezugs-Zähler Ihrer Solaranlage (z.B. SMA Homemanager 2.0, Kostal Power Meter, E3/DC Netzbezugszähler, etc.). Damit der Charging Manager den Netzbezug unabhängig von Laden der Elektroautos berechnen kann, muss in dieser Konfiguration für jede Wallbox ein Zähler mit Rolle "Verbrauch E-Auto" konfiguriert sein.
  2. Oder: Sie messen mit einem geeignetem Zähler Ihren Hausverbrauch ohne Wallbox(en) und ohne die Erzeugungsleistung. Hierfür reichen einfachen S0-Zähler aus. Der Charging Manager zieht dann von der Erzeugungsleistung den Hausverbrauch ab und stellt die restliche Leistung zum Laden zur Verfügung.

Die Erzeugungsleistung kann mit einem extra Zähler gemessen werden. Alternativ können Sie u.U. die Werte aus Ihrer Solaranlage direkt auslesen. Beachten Sie dazu unsere Liste von aktuell unterstützten Geräten.

(*) Aufgrund von Mess- und Rechenungenaugigkeiten kann im Grenzbereich ein leichter Netzbezug bzw. Einspeisung entstehen.

Benutzerbericht zum Überschussladen mit Shelly 3EM (PDF)
Benutzerbericht zum Überschussladen mit Solaredge

Bilanzielles Überschussladen

Wenn Sie wissen, dass die Solaranlage höchstens 4,2 kW Leistung erzeugen kann, muss das Überschussladen mit einem Workaround konfiguriert werden. Dabei wird das "bilanzielle Laden" angewendet.

Hinweis: Elektroautos benötigen mindestens 1,4 kW (d.h. 6 A) pro Phase, um laden zu können. Beim dreiphasigen Laden ergibt sich also 3*1,4 kW = 4,2 kW.

Unterhalb von 4,2 kW Solarleistung muss man die Leistung zum Laden von den drei Phasen auf eine Phase umverteilen, damit auf dieser Phase mindestens 1,4 kW zur Verfügung stehen. Wenn Sie beispielsweise auf allen Phasen 500 W Solarleistung einspeisen, können Sie auf einer einzelnen Phase 1500 W ziehen. Da die Zweirichtungszähler der Energieversorger bilanziell arbeiten, entsteht rechnerisch weder Netzbezug noch Einspeisung.

Unterhalb von 4,2 kW müssen Sie also zwei Sicherungen, mit denen die Zuleitungen zur Wallbox abgesichert sind, ausschalten (nur nicht die, mit der der cFos Power Brain Controller abgesichert ist). Achtung: Sie dürfen aber nicht während des Ladevorgangs einzelne Phasen zu- oder abschalten. Das kann zur Zerstörung der Ladeeinrichtung des Autos führen! Wenn Sie an der Wallbox keinen Zähler verwenden, der einzelne Phasen auflösen kann, sollten Sie nach Möglichkeit dem Charging Manager mitteilen, dass das Auto jetzt einphasig lädt, indem Sie den Konfigurationsparameter "Phasen" entsprechend setzen. Bei einem Zähler, der einzelne Phasen auflösen kann, können Sie die Phasen-Einstellung auf "ermitteln" lassen.

Wenn Sie das Auto später wieder unabhängig vom Solarüberschuss aufladen wollen, schalten sie vor dem Ladevorgang die ausgeschalteten Sicherungen ein und deaktivieren Sie im Charging Manager die Solarüberschuss-Laderegel. Dann können Sie mit der normalen Leistung laden.

Einstellung des Parameters "Phasen"

Der cFos Charging Manager muss wissen, auf welchen Phasen das Auto lädt (z.B. 1-phasig oder 3-phasig), um

  • die Auslastung der einzelnen Phasen für das Lastmanagement berechnen zu können, und
  • um zu entscheiden, wann bei solarem Überschussladen der minimale Ladestrom pro genutzter Phase erreicht ist und das Laden aktiviert wird.
Wenn Sie bei Ihrer Wallbox einen Zähler angeheftet haben, stellen Sie diesen am besten so ein, dass die genutzten Phasen denen der elektrischen Installation entsprichen. Bei einer Wallbox, die einen phasenweise auflösenden Zähler besitzt oder der ein solcher angeheftet ist, können Sie die Phasen auf "Ermitteln" stellen.

Hat die Wallbox keinen (evtl. angehefteten) Zähler mit phasenweiser Auflösung (z.B. cFos Power Brain mit S0-Zähler, Tesla Wall Connector, u.a.) und Sie laden immer das selbe Auto, dann sollten Sie die Phasen so einstellen, wie das Auto sie tatsächlich nutzt. Laden Sie wechselnde Autos, stellen Sie die Phasen der Wallbox auf "Ermitteln". Bei "Ermitteln" versucht der cFos Charging Manager, die tatsächlich genutzten Phasen zu ermitteln. Er weiß normalerweise, ob der jeweilige Zähler oder die Wallbox phasenweise Auflösung der Ströme bietet. Z.B: liefert ein S0-Zähler nur Pulse pro kWh der Gesamtleistung und keine Werte für die einzelnen Phasen. Solch ein Zähler misst also die Gesamtleistung und legt diese auf die eingestellten Phasen um. Aus Sicht der Wallbox nutzen 1-phasig ladende Autos immer Phase L1 (auch wenn diese gegenüber dem Hausnetz phasenrotiert installiert ist). 2-phasig ladende Autos laden immer auf den Phasen L1 und L2.

Der bei der Wallbox eingestellte Parameter "Phasen" wird bei einem neu eingesteckten Auto auch zur Prognose der tatsächlich genutzten Phasen verwendet. Bei "Ermitteln" nimmt der Charging Manager zunächst 1-phasiges Laden an und schaltet ggf. auf 2-phasiges bzw. 3-phasiges Laden um. Nach dem Ausstecken beginnt die Prognose wieder bei 1-phasig.

Bei solarem Überschussladen von 3-phasig ladenden Autos hat dies zur Folge, dass der cFos Charging Manager bei steigender Solarleistung mit der Prognose "1-phasig" zu früh anfängt zu laden. Er stellt dann nach wenigen Sekunden 3-phasige Nutzung fest und pausiert das Laden bei zu geringem solaren Überschuss, bis genug Leistung für Überschussladen verfügbar ist. Damit das funktioniert, ist in den ersten 2 Minuten des Ladens die Unterschreitungszeit (die man in den Laderegeln einstellen kann) auf genau 15 Sekunden begrenzt. Wenn Sie dieses kurzzeitige Einschalten vermeiden wollen, können Sie die Phasen in den Wallbox-Einstellungen auf die tatsächlich genutzten Phasen stellen. Bei wechselnden Autos empfiehlt es sich, im Charging Manager RFIDs mit der Funktion "Phasen überschreiben" anzulegen und hiermit dem Charging Manager beim Einstecken des Ladekabels mitzuteilen, mit welchen Phasen das Auto lädt.

Stromspeicher

Die Steuerung in einem Stromspeicher versucht immer den Netzbezug und die Netzeinspeisung zu minimieren. Dies können Sie dem cFos Charging Manager mitteilen, indem Sie einen Zähler mit der Rolle "Solarspeicher" einrichten. In diesem Falle gilt ein sich entladender Speicher als Erzeuger (der Zähler zeigt negative Leistungswerte), d.h. diese Energie steht dem Laden des Autos zur Verfügung. Ein ladender Speicher (der Zähler zeigt positive Leistungswerte) gilt allerdings nicht als Verbraucher, weil der Speicher die Ladung sofort stoppt, wenn die Ladeleistung für das Laden des Elektroauto verwendet wird. Der cFos Charging Manager ignoriert also bei Zählern mit der Rolle "Solarspeicher" dessen Verbrauch. Sie können bei der Rolle des Speicherzählers zwischen "Speicher Alles" und "Speicher Home" wählen. Bei "Speicher Home" wird die Entladung des Speichers nicht zum Überschussladen genutzt, was tiefe Ladezyklen des Speichers vermeidet. Hier noch Möglichkeiten der Zählernutzung.

Falls Ihr Stromspeicher nicht über einen bidirektionalen Zähler verfügt, können Sie einen externen Zähler einbauen. Meist empfehlen sich bidirektionale Modbus-Zähler, aber es kann je nach Anordnung der Zähler in der Installation auch mit mehreren S0-Zählern (oder anderen unidirektionalen Zählern) gehen, was im Einzelfall zu prüfen ist.