Billing and use of calibrated meters

The MessEV stipulates that only calibrated meters may be used for billing purposes. In the EU, MID certified meters are considered calibrated. MID certification can be recognised by the 'M' enclosed in a rectangle with a 2-digit year of manufacture. To the right of the rectangle is the number of the certifying authority.

In Germany, an EVSE with integrated meter is considered a "measuring device" and must be calibrated if it is to be used for billing purposes. So if you want to use our EVSE with built-in MID certified meter for official billing purposes, you must remove the meters and install them in the distribution cabinet from which your EVSE is supplied with electricity.

So there are three scenarios:

  1. You only use the built-in meter for load management. Then it doesn't matter whether it is MID certified. Meter readings are for information only.
  2. Your employer, landlord, etc. only requires the use of a MID certified / calibrated meter. Then you can use the MID certified meter installed in the EVSE as supplied.
  3. You need meter readings for official billing purposes. In this case, you must install the meter from the EVSE in a separate control cabinet / distributor. The meter must be readable for the end user.

You must therefore decide on a case-by-case basis how to proceed in your specific application. On request, we can supply the cFos Power Brain Wallbox with a built-in or external meter.

Billing of charging processes of several persons at one EVSE

For the accounting of charging processes of different users at an EVSE, the cFos Charging Manager offers a transaction log in which the user IDs and RFIDs or PINs of the users are stored in the form of a CSV file, together with the kWh charged. This can be analysed by machine, e.g. loaded into Excel. Here, the cFos Charging Manager (so far) only offers the transaction log as an aid. If you want to account for the individual charging processes of different users in compliance with calibration law, you must operate an EVSE that can output signed meter readings at the start and stop of a charging process. We are currently working on a corresponding variant of the cFos Power Brain Wallbox and on the cFos Charging Manager being able to hold these signed meter readings for "official" billing purposes.

Abrechnung und Einsatz geeichter Zähler

Das MessEV sieht vor, dass für Abrechnungszwecke nur geeichte Zähler verwendet werden dürfen. In der EU gelten MID zertifizierte Zähler als geeicht. Man erkennt die MID Zertifizierung an dem in einem Rechteck eingeschlossenen 'M' mit einer 2-stelligen Jahreszahl der Herstellung. Rechts neben dem Rechteck ist die Nummer der Zertifizierungsbehörde zu finden.

Eine Wallbox mit integriertem Zähler gilt in Deutschland als "Messgerät" und muss, wenn sie zu Abrechnungszwecken genutzt werden soll, geeicht sein. Wenn Sie unsere Wallbox mit eingebautem MID zertifiziertem Zähler also zu offiziellen Abrechnungszwecken einsetzen möchten, müssen Sie die Zähler ausbauen und in dem Verteilerschrank, von dem aus Ihre Wallbox mit Strom versorgt wird, einbauen.

Es gibt also drei Szenarien:

  1. Sie nutzten den eingebauten Zähler nur zum Lastmanagement. Dann ist es egal, ob er MID Zertifiziert ist. Zählerstände dienen nur der Information.
  2. Ihr Arbeitgeber, Vermieter, etc. verlangt lediglich die Verwendung eines MID zertifizierten / geeichten Zählers. Dann können Sie den in der Wallbox eingebauten MID zertifizierten Zähler, wie geliefert, verwenden.
  3. Sie benötigen Zählerstände für offizielle Abrechnungen. In diesem Falle müssen Sie den Zähler aus der Wallbox in einen separaten Schaltschrank / Verteiler einbauen. Der Zähler muss für den Endverbraucher ablesbar sein.

Sie müssen also im Einzelfall entscheiden, wie in Ihrem konkreten Anwendungsfall verfahren wird. Auf Wunsch liefern wir die cFos Power Brain Wallbox mit eingebautem aber auch mit extern beiliegendem Zähler.

Abrechnung von Ladevorgängen von mehreren Personen an einer Wallbox

Zu Abrechnung von Ladevorgängen unterschiedlicher Benutzer an einer Wallbox bietet der cFos Charging Manager ein Transaktion-Log an, in dem die Benutzer IDs und RFIDs bzw PINs der Benutzer, samt geladener kWh in Form einer CSV Datei gespeichert werden. Diese können Sie machinell auswerten, z.B. in Excel laden. Hier bietet der cFos Charging Manager (bisher) das Transaktionlog nur als Hilfsmittel an. Wenn Sie die einzelnen Ladevorgänge verschiedener Benutzer eichrechtskonform abrechnen möchten, müssen Sie eine Wallbox betreiben, die signierte Zählerstände beim Start und Stop eines Ladevorgangs ausgeben kann. Wir arbeiten derzeit daran, dass es eine entsprechende Variante der cFos Power Brain Wallbox gibt und daran, dass der cFos Charging Manager diese signierten Zählerstände zu "offiziellen" Abrechnungen vorhalten kann.