OCPP configuration

operating the cFos Power Brain Wallbox as an OCPP client

To do this, click on "cFos Power Brain Wallbox Configuration" and enter the following:

EVSE as OCPP Client: activate

IDThe ChargeBox ID set in the backend. If you want to operate the cFos Power Brain Wallbox as an OCPP client in the cFos Charging Manager, this must match the ID that you have entered as the "Address" in the cFos Charging Manager for the corresponding EVSE.
ServerThe URL of the OCPP backend. If you want to operate the cFos Power Brain Wallbox as an OCPP client in the cFos Charging Manager, enter the IP address of the cFos Charging Manager and the port that you have configured as the OCPP server port in the Charging Manager settings here.

Operating an OCPP EVSE with the cFos Charging Manager

To do this, click on "Settings" of the corresponding EVSE and enter the following:

Device typeEVSE with OCPP 1.6
AddressHere you must enter the ChargeBox ID that was configured in the EVSE.
IdYou must enter the connector ID here. For EVSEs with one charging point this is always 1, for two charging points it is correspondingly 1 or 2, etc.

OCPP Gateway in cFos Charging Manager

The EVSE gateway in the cFos Charging Manager allows every EVSE that is set up in the load management to look like an EVSE to an OCPP backend.
It provides the backend with a uniform interface, regardless of what the EVSE can do. The EVSE only needs to be remotely controllable by the cFos Charging Manager, it does not need to support OCPP.
If the EVSE supports OCPP, the cFos Charging Manager can compensate for some of the backend's weaknesses. Functions of the OCPP Gateway:
  • Make an EVSE that does not support OCPP appear to the backend as one that does
  • Control an EVSE-capable EVSE that is logged into an external backend (e.g. for billing purposes) in local load management using OCPP
Figure OCPP Gateway in cFos Charging Manager

Some EVSEs with OCPP, such as the Innogy eBox professional S or Mennekes Amtron, can transmit meter data to the OCPP backend in compliance with calibration regulations. The OCPP gateway of the cFos Charging Manager can transparently forward such meter data to the backend.

The gateway is not required to operate a cFos Power Brain Wallbox, because the cFos Power Brain Wallbox allows the simultaneous operation of OCPP to the backend for authorisation and billing and Modbus for load management. To do this, configure the OCPP client under "cFos Power Brain Controller Configuration" and additionally activate Modbus. Then enter a cFos Power Brain Wallbox under "Start" and enter the address or COM port data and Modbus ID.

You need an additional OCPP Gateway licence per charging point.

If you want to set up the gateway, you must configure the following parameters. To do this, click on "Settings" of the corresponding EVSE and enter the following:

OCPP Gateway URLThe URL of the OCPP Settlement Backend
CPP Gateway PasswordA password assigned to them by the operator of the backend for this EVSE
OCPP Gateway Client IDThe ID with which the gateway reports to the backend. The operator of the backend gives you this ID

Certificates for OCPP clients and servers

Certificates are used when using encrypted TLS connections between client and server. To successfully establish such a connection, the server always needs a certificate and an associated private key. The cFos Charging Manager already has a self-signed certificate on board. Therefore, no own certificates have to be imported. However, this option exists on both the server and the client side.

On the server side, an own certificate and the corresponding private key can be imported. This certificate can be self-signed or signed by an official certification authority. If no CA certificate (CA = Certificate Authority) is stored in the client, a TLS connection is established in any case. If one or more CA certificates are stored in the client, the respective server certificates must match (OCPP Security Profile 2). The server certificate itself can be stored as the CA certificate. If the client has a connection to the Internet, root certificates of certification authorities that have signed the server certificate can also be stored there. However, you can also store your own root certificate that has signed the server certificate.

As an additional security level, a certificate can also be used in the opposite direction (OCPP Security Protocol 3). For this purpose, a certificate and the corresponding private key are stored in the client. The server also receives this certificate among the CA certificates or a root certificate that has signed the client certificate. This means that the TLS connection is only established if the server can also verify the client certificate.

You can create certificates yourself, e.g. with the programme OpenSSL, which is available free of charge for Windows and Linux. A few examples using OpenSSL follow. The examples use a configuration file saved in UTF8 format in conjunction with the -config parameter. This has the advantage that umlauts and other Unicode characters can also be used in the certificate. The configuration file always has the following format:

[req]
prompt = no
distinguished_name = dn
req_extensions = ext

[dn]
CN = Unsere Tiefgarage
emailAddress = info@tiefgarage-koeln.de
O = Tiefgarage Köln GmbH
OU = Abteilung 13
L = Köln
C = DE

[ext]
subjectAltName = DNS:tiefgarage-koeln.de,DNS:*.tiefgarage-koeln.de
         

Creation of a private key rootCA.key for a root certificate:
openssl genrsa -des3 -out rootCA.key 4096

Create a self-signed root certificate rootCA.crt using the private key rootCA.key created above and the configuration file rootCA.cnf (the parameter -days specifies how many days the certificate is valid for):
openssl req -x509 -new -nodes -key rootCA.key -sha256 -days 365 -out rootCA.crt -config rootCA.cnf -utf8

Creation of a private key client.key for a client certificate:
openssl genrsa -out client.key 2048

Create a Certificate Signing Request (CSR) client.csr for a client certificate using the private key client.key created above and the configuration file client.cnf:
openssl req -new -key client.key -out client.csr -config client.cnf -utf8

Creation of a client certificate client1.crt, which is signed with the root certificate rootCA.crt above and the associated private key rootCA.key (the parameter -days again specifies how long the certificate is valid):
openssl x509 -req -in client.csr -CA rootCA.crt -CAkey rootCA.key -CAcreateserial -out client.crt -days 365 -sha256

Parallel operation OCPP and Modbus

You can operate a cFos Power Brain Wallbox in parallel with Modbus and OCPP, e.g. to integrate it into the local load management via Modbus and to connect it to a billing backend via OCPP. To do this, "Activate Modbus" must be set in the cFos Power Brain Wallbox settings and a TCP port or COM parameter must be configured so that the wallbox can be addressed via Modbus. In addition, an OCPP URL to the backend, the OCPP client ID and, if applicable, the OCPP connector ID must be set under OCPP settings. OCPP then starts loading processes, i.e. transactions. Based on the transmitted RFID, it determines whether the transaction is permitted and starts loading if necessary. If no RFID reader is available, you can configure a fixed RFID that is known to the OCPP backend. Using Modbus, the charging current can now be regulated for load management purposes, i.e. the charging current specified by the OCPP charging profile can be reduced. The charging profile specifies the maximum charging current. The charging current is therefore always the minimum of the charging currents specified via Modbus and OCPP. Charging can also be temporarily deactivated and reactivated via Modbus or OCPP. Charging only takes place if both Modbus and OCPP backend allow charging.

OCPP Konfiguration

cFos Power Brain Wallbox als OCPP Client betreiben

Hierzu klicken Sie auf "cFos Power Brain Wallbox Konfiguration" und tragen folgendes ein:

Wallbox als OCPP Client: aktivieren

IDDie im Backend eingestellte ChargeBox ID. Wenn Sie die cFos Power Brain Wallbox als OCPP Client im cFos Charging Manager betreiben möchten, muss diese mit der ID übereinstimmen, die Sie als "Adresse" im cFos Charging Manager bei der entsprechenden Wallbox eingetragen haben.
ServerDie URL des OCPP Backends. Wenn Sie die cFos Power Brain Wallbox als OCPP Client im cFos Charging Manager betreiben möchten, tragen Sie hier die IP-Adresse des cFos Charging Managers und den Port ein, den Sie in den Einstellungen des Charging Manager als OCPP Server Port konfiguriert haben.

Eine OCPP Wallbox mit dem cFos Charging Manager betreiben

Hierzu klicken Sie auf "Einstellungen" der entsprechenden Wallbox und tragen folgendes ein:

Geräte-TypEVSE with OCPP 1.6
AdresseHier müssen Sie die ChargeBox ID eintragen, die in der Wallbox konfiguriert wurde.
IdHier müssen Sie die Connector ID eingeben. Für Wallboxen mit einem Ladepunkt ist dies stets 1, bei zwei Ladepunkten entsprechend 1 oder 2, usw.

OCPP Gateway im cFos Charging Manager

Das OCPP Gateway im cFos Charging Manager erlaubt, jede Wallbox, die im Lastmanagement eingerichtet ist, gegenüber einen OCPP Backend wie eine OCPP Wallbox aussehen zu lassen.
Es stellt dem Backend gegenüber ein einheitliches Interface zur Verfügung, unabhängig davon, was die konkrete Wallbox kann. Die Wallbox muss nur vom cFos Charging Manager fernsteuerbar sein, sie muss insbesondere kein OCPP unterstützen.
Falls die Wallbox OCPP unterstützt, kann der cFos Charging Manager gegenüber dem Backend einige Schwächen ausgleichen. Funktionen des OCPP Gateway:
  • Eine Wallbox, die kein OCPP kann, gegenüber dem backend wie eine mit OCPP erscheinen lassen
  • Eine OCPP-fähige Wallbox, die in ein externes backend (z.B. zu Abrechnungszwecken) eingebucht ist, mittels OCPP im lokalen Lastmanagement steuern
Abbildung OCPP Gateway im cFos Charging Manager

Einige Wallboxen mit OCPP, wie z.B. die Innogy eBox professional S oder Mennekes Amtron, können eichrechtskonforme Zählerdaten ans OCPP Backend übermitteln. Das OCPP Gateway des cFos Charging Managers kann solche Zählerdaten transparent ans Backend weiterleiten.

Zum Betrieb einer cFos Power Brain Wallbox ist das Gateway nicht erforderlich, denn die cFos Power Brain Wallbox erlaubt den gleichzeitigen Betrieb von OCPP zum Backend zur Autorisierung und Abrechnung und Modbus zum Lastmanagement. Hierzu konfigurieren Sie unter "cFos Power Brain Konfiguration" den OCPP Client und aktivieren zusätzlich Modbus. Dann tragen Sie unter "Start" eine cFos Power Brain Wallbox ein und geben die Adresse bzw. COM Port-Daten und Modbus ID an.

Pro Ladepunkt benötigen Sie eine zusätzliche OCPP Gateway Lizenz.

Wenn Sie das Gateway einrichten möchten, müssen Sie folgende Parameter konfigurieren. Hierzu klicken Sie auf "Einstellungen" der entsprechenden Wallbox und tragen Folgendes ein:

OCPP Gateway URLDie URL des OCPP Abrechnungs-Backends
CPP Gateway PasswortEin Passwort, das ihnen der Betreiber des Backend für diese Wallbox zuteilt
OCPP Gateway Client IDDie ID, mit der sich das Gateway beim Backend meldet. Diese ID gibt Ihnen der Betreiber des Backends

Zertifikate für OCPP Clients und Server

Zertifikate kommen bei der Verwendung verschlüsselter TLS-Verbindungen zwischen Client und Server zum Einsatz. Zum erfolgreichen Aufbau einer solchen Verbindung benötigt der Server stets ein Zertifikat und einen zugehörigen privaten Schlüssel. Der cFos Charging Manager hat dazu bereits ein selbst-signiertes Zertifikat an Bord. Es müssen also keine eigenen Zertifikate eingespielt werden. Diese Option besteht allerdings sowohl auf der Server- als auch auf Clientseite.

Serverseitig können ein eigenes Zertifikat und der zugehörige private Schlüssel eingespielt werden. Dabei kann dieses Zertifikat selbst-signiert oder auch von einer offiziellen Zertifizierungsstelle signiert sein. Wird im Client kein CA-Zertifikat (CA = Certificate Authority) hinterlegt, kommt so in jedem Fall eine TLS-Verbindung zu Stande. Werden im Client ein oder mehrere CA-Zertifikate hinterlegt, müssen die jeweiligen Server-Zertifikate dazu passen (OCPP Security Profile 2). Als CA-Zertifikat kann das Server-Zertifikat selbst hinterlegt werden. Hat der Client eine Verbindung ins Internet, können dort auch Root-Zertifikate von Zertifizierungsstellen hinterlegt werden, die das Server-Zertifikat signiert haben. Es kann aber auch ein eigenes Root-Zertifikat hinterlegt werden, das das Server-Zertifikat signiert hat.

Als zusätzliche Sicherheitsstufe kann zusätzlich ein Zertifikat auch in umgekehrter Richtung verwenden werden (OCPP Security Protocol 3). Dazu werden im Client ein Zertifikat und der zugehörige private Schlüssel hinterlegt. Der Server erhält unter den CA-Zertifikaten ebenfalls dieses Zertifikat oder ein Root-Zertifikat, das das Client-Zertifikat signiert hat. Damit kommt die TLS-Verbindung nur zu Stande, wenn auch der Server das Client-Zertifikat verifizieren kann.

Sie Können Zertifikate selbst erstellen, z.B. mit dem Programm OpenSSL, das kostenlos für Windows, wie auch für Linux erhältlich ist. Es folgen ein paar Beispiele unter Verwendung von OpenSSL. Die Beispiele verwenden in Verbindung mit dem Parameter -config eine Konfigurationsdatei, die im UTF8-Format gespeichert ist. Dies hat den Vorteil, dass im Zertifikat auch Umlaute und sonstige Unicode-Zeichen verwendet werden können. Die Konfigurationsdatei hat stets folgendes Format:

[req]
prompt = no
distinguished_name = dn
req_extensions = ext

[dn]
CN = Unsere Tiefgarage
emailAddress = info@tiefgarage-koeln.de
O = Tiefgarage Köln GmbH
OU = Abteilung 13
L = Köln
C = DE

[ext]
subjectAltName = DNS:tiefgarage-koeln.de,DNS:*.tiefgarage-koeln.de
         

Erstellung eines privaten Schlüssels rootCA.key für ein Root-Zertifikat:
openssl genrsa -des3 -out rootCA.key 4096

Erstellung eines selbst-signierten Root-Zertifikats rootCA.crt unter Verwendung des oben erstellten privaten Schlüssels rootCA.key und der Konfigurationsdatei rootCA.cnf (der Parameter -days gibt an, wieviele Tage lang das Zertifikat gültig ist):
openssl req -x509 -new -nodes -key rootCA.key -sha256 -days 365 -out rootCA.crt -config rootCA.cnf -utf8

Erstellung eines privaten Schlüssels client.key für ein Client-Zertifikat:
openssl genrsa -out client.key 2048

Erstellung eines Certificate Signing Requests (CSR) client.csr für ein Client-Zertifikat unter Verwendung des oben erstellen privaten Schlüssels client.key und der Konfigurationsdatei client.cnf:
openssl req -new -key client.key -out client.csr -config client.cnf -utf8

Erstellung eines Client-Zertifikats client1.crt, das mit dem obigen Root-Zertifikat rootCA.crt und dem zugehörigen privaten Schlüssel rootCA.key signiert wird (der Parameter -days gibt wieder an, wie lange das Zertifikat gültig ist):
openssl x509 -req -in client.csr -CA rootCA.crt -CAkey rootCA.key -CAcreateserial -out client.crt -days 365 -sha256