Applications for electricity meters

Introduction

Electricity meters can be integrated in many places and serve different purposes in the cFos Charging Manager. The cFos Power Brain Wallbox and the integrated cFos Charging Manager (also available separately for Windows/Raspberry Pi) support all types of electricity meters listed below:

  • S0 electricity meter: The simplest and cheapest type of electricity meter. When connecting the S0 output, pay attention to the polarity, as nowadays it is mostly a semiconductor output that only conducts in one direction. Use a twisted pair connection for this. If you do not register pulses, you must swap the wires at the S0 input. An S0 electricity meter is supplied with our cFos Power Brain Wallbox. You can use it universally, e.g. for measuring the charging power, the household consumption or the generation power of your solar system.
  • Modbus electricity meter: Electricity meter supporting the Modbus RTU protocol. The cFos Power Brain Wallbox has an RS-485 connection for Modbus RTU. With the Raspberry Pi or Windows PC, you need an RS-485 adapter for this (e.g. our Modbus kit.
  • Smart Meter: Often installed in photovoltaic systems. This is usually a bidirectional meter that is connected to the grid transfer point and can measure whether you are currently drawing or feeding in electricity. These meters usually speak Modbus TCP, i.e. if your photovoltaic system is connected to your house grid, you can address this meter directly.


Note:
There are phase-resolved and non-phase-resolved electricity meters. Phase-resolved electricity meters count the electricity on each individual phase.
Meters with bidirectional measurement can distinguish consumption and feed-in. A bidirectional electricity meter at the grid reference point is recommended if you want to charge solar surplus (see below) or have an overview of your electricity feed-in/consumption for your entire house with photovoltaic system.

Mains reference

You connect the electricity meter to the grid transfer point. The cFos Charging Manager can then use this meter to determine the consumption or electricity generation of your photovoltaic system and calculate the solar surplus. If you have a photovoltaic system, you need a bidirectional electricity meter to charge solar surplus. Alternatively, you can use the consumer-generator measuring method, i.e. you install corresponding meters for all consumers and generators.

Example grid reference

Consumption from electric car/upgrading of third-party boxes

You install the electricity meter directly in the cFos Power Brain Wallbox or connect the electricity meter behind any EVSE without an electricity meter. This allows you to keep an eye on the electricity consumption of a single EVSE. If you add an EVSE without an electricity meter to the cFos Charging Manager, you can connect an electricity meter behind this EVSE. You can then add this as a device in the cFos Charging Manager and attach it to the EVSE in the EVSE settings. For the cFos Charging Manager, a EVSE with a meter attached appears like a EVSE with an integrated meter. The cFos Charging Manager can then respond to the actual charging power of the car and thus charge intelligently.

Example for SunSpec Solar Inverter

Dynamic charging current control with consideration of domestic consumption

You connect the electricity meter so that you measure the electricity consumption of the house without the cFos Power Brain Wallbox. The cFos Charging Manager will then reduce the charging power of your EVSE during load peaks to prevent overloading. This also works with multiple EVSEs. Alternatively, you can also set a fixed amount of power available to the house in total in the cFos Charging Manager and allocate a fixed buffer. With an electricity meter, the load distribution works dynamically and you can reduce your buffer. Dynamic charging current control with S0 electricity meter

Example dynamic charging current control

Einleitung

Stromzähler können an vielen Stellen eingebunden werden und unterschiedliche Zwecke im cFos Charging Manager erfüllen. Die cFos Power Brain Wallbox und der integrierte cFos Charging Manager (auch separat für Windows/Raspberry Pi erhältlich) unterstützen alle unten aufgeführten Arten von Stromzählern:

  • S0-Stromzähler: Die einfachste und günstigste Art von Stromzählern. Beim Anschluss des S0-Ausgangs muss auf die Polarität geachtet werden, da es sich heutzutage meist um einen Halbleiter-Ausgang handelt, der nur in eine Richtung leitet. Verwenden Sie hierfür eine gedrillte Zweidrahtverbindung. Wenn Sie keine Pulse registrieren, müssen Sie die Leitungen am S0-Eingang vertauschen. Ein S0-Stromzähler ist bei unserer cFos Power Brain Wallbox mitgeliefert. Diesen können Sie universell einsetzen, z.B. für die Messung der Ladeleistung, des Hausverbrauchs oder der Erzeugungsleistung Ihrer Solaranlage.
  • Modbus Stromzähler: Stromzähler mit Unterstützung des Modbus RTU Protokolls. Die cFos Power Brain Wallbox verfügt über einen RS-485 Anschluss für Modbus RTU. Beim Raspberry Pi oder Windows PC benötigen Sie hierzu einen RS-485 Adapter (z.B. unser Modbuskit.
  • Smart Meter: Oft bei Photovoltaikanlagen verbaut. Meist ist dies ein bidirektionaler Zähler, der am Netzübergabepunkt angeschlossen ist und messen kann, ob Sie gerade Strom beziehen oder einspeisen. Diese Zähler sprechen meist Modbus TCP, d.h. wenn Ihre Photovoltaikanlage mit Ihrem Hausnetz verbunden ist, können Sie diesen Zähler direkt ansprechen.


Hinweis:
Es gibt phasenaufgelöste und nicht nicht phasenaufgelöste Stromzähler. Phasenaufgelöste Stromzähler zählen den Strom auf jeder einzelnen Phase.
Zähler mit bidirektionaler Messung können Verbrauch und Einspeisung unterscheiden. Einen bidrektionaler Stromzähler am Netzbezugspunkt ist empfehlenswert wenn sie solaren Überschuss laden wollen (siehe unten) oder einen Überblick über Ihre Stromeinspeisung/Stromverbrauch für Ihr ganzes Haus mit Photovoltaikanlage haben wollen.

Netzbezug

Sie schließen den Stromzähler am Netzübergabepunkt an. Der cFos Charging Manager kann dann mit diesem Zähler den Verbrauch bzw. Stromerzeugung Ihrer Photovoltaikanlage ermitteln und den solaren Überschuss berechnen. Sollten Sie eine Photovoltaikanlage haben, benötigen Sie einen bidirektionalen Stromzähler um solaren Überschuss zu laden. Alternativ nutzen Sie die Messmethode Verbraucher Erzeuger, d.h. Sie installieren Für alle Verbraucher und Erzeuger entsprechende Zähler.

Beispiel Netzbezug

Verbrauch vom Elektroauto/Aufwertung von Fremdboxen

Sie bauen den Stromzähler direkt in die cFos Power Brain Wallbox ein oder schließen den Stromzähler hinter einer beliebigen Wallbox ohne Stromzähler an. So können Sie den Stromverbrauch einer einzelnen Wallbox im Blick behalten. Sollten Sie eine Wallbox ohne Stromzähler dem cFos Charging Manager hinzufügen, können Sie einen Stromzähler hinter diese Wallbox klemmen. Diesen können Sie dann im cFos Charging Manager als Geräte hinzufügen und der Wallbox in den Wallboxeinstellungen dann anheften. Eine Warging Mllbox mit angehefteten Zähler erscheint für den cFos Charging Manager wie ein Wallbox mit integriertem Zähler. Der cFos Charging Manager kann dann auf die tatsächliche Ladeleistung des Autos eingehen und damit intelligent laden.

Beispiel für SunSpec Solar Inverter

Dynamische Ladestrom-Regelung mit Berücksichtigung des Hausverbrauchs

Sie schließen den Stromzähler so an, dass Sie den Stromverbrauch des Hauses ohne die cFos Power Brain Wallbox messen. Der cFos Charging Manager wird dann bei Lastspitzen die Ladeleistung Ihrer Wallbox reduzieren um eine Überlastung zu verhindern. Dies funktioniert auch mit mehreren Wallboxen. Alternativ können Sie im cFos Charging Manager auch fest einstellen, wie viel Leistung dem Haus insgesamt an Leistung zur Verfügung steht und einen festen Puffer zuteilen. Mit einem Stromzähler funktioniert die Lastverteilung dynamisch und Sie können Ihren Puffer verringern. Dynamische Ladestrom-Regelung mit S0-Stromzähler

Beispiel dynamische Ladestrom-Regelung