cFos Charging Manager

cFos Charging Manager

The cFos Charging Manager is aimed at operators of parking lots that are to be equipped with EVSEs for charging electric cars. The goal is to provide the individual electric cars with as much charging power as possible, taking into account the available total power - without having to increase the existing house connection capacity

Previous solutions are expensive and usually limited to a specific supplier of EVSEs

The cFos Charging Manager allows you to set up your charging infrastructure according to your needs. For this purpose, cFos Charging Manager supports a number of EVSEs from different manufacturers. We are constantly working on expanding the list of supported EVSEs

To plan your charging infrastructure, first select the desired EVSEs. For large systems, the individual EVSEs should be as inexpensive as possible so that the total costs remain manageable. For this reason, the cFos Charging Manager also supports low-cost models and will then make any missing EVSE functionality available in other ways

Try the cFos Charging Manager for free now!

Download cFos Charging Manager - Version 0.0

Questions and Answers regarding cFos EVSE, cFos Charging Controller and cFos Charging Manager

Scenarios

Img Single family house with solar system

Single family house with solar system

1-2 EVSEs, Charging Agent, intermedita meter for home consumption measurement, S0 meter for EVSE consumption measurement

1 EVSE with 22kW and instantaneous water heater would overbook the existing house connection capacity. Thanks to charge management, the charging power for the car is shut down when someone takes a shower or cooks. With 2 EVSEs the charging power would be distributed to both cars. Solar power is used to charge the cars during the day

Img Garage 50 parking spaces

Garage 50 parking spaces

with go-e boxes and central ABB B24 (Modbus to Raspberry PI) in an apartment building

In several places in the garage there are RFID readers that communicate with the cFos Charging Manager

Supported EVSEs

(*) We tested the cFos Charging Manager for compatibility during the OCPP July 2020 Plugfest. If you want to make sure that your OCPP device works with the cFos Charging Manager, please contact us for a free remote test

The choice of EVSE determines the networking. Mixed and retrofitted EVSEs from other manufacturers are also possible. So you are not dependent on a EVSE manufacturer!

With OCPP and Keba, networking typically consists of Ethernet cabling. go-e and SMARTFOX use WLAN. EVracing (Stark-in-Strom) and SmartEVSE require 2-wire Modbus RTU cabling. The cFos Charging Manager can communicate simultaneously with Ethernet, WLAN and via Modbus RTU

Supported intermediate meters

    documentation/tested-inverters.htm

Check yourself if the cFos Charging Manager is compatible with your inverter.

Billing and Authentication

OCPP EVSEs, as well as Keba, go-e and SMARTFOX have built-in electricity meters that the cFos Charging Manager can read and make the kilowatt hours used available for billing. EVSEs with controllers from EVracing and SmartEVSE require a separate meter. In this case, the ABB B23 112-100 pro EVSE, which is wired via Modbus RTU, is a good choice. We recommend to install a separate Modbus for networking the intermediate meters

OCPP EVSEs typically have an RFID reader for authentication. Also the go-e Home+ Mobile, SMARTFOX Car Charger and most models of the keba c- and x-series have their own RFID reader. In this case you will teach these EVSEs new RFID cards. Then these EVSEs check the RFID card and activate the charging process automatically. The cFos Charging Manager remains informed about the charging process and can regulate the charging power

For EVSEs without their own RFID reader, release can be done via a Web interface of the cFos Charging Manager by entering a PIN. You can also connect an RFID reader to the cFos Charging Manager or network it with one or more RFID readers. The cFos Charging Manager then takes over authorization and release of the EVSEs. Mixed operation of EVSEs with and without RFID readers is also possible

Control of charging power

The cFos Charging Manager tries to distribute the maximum connected load installed in the building as well as possible to the electric cars to be charged
The cFos Charging Manager calculates the available charging power from one second to the next as follows:

To record consumption (and generation), Modbus-capable intermediate meters must be installed:
Either you install an intermediate meter for each consumer and generator or you install a central meter at the house connection. In both cases, the cFos Charging Manager reads the meters via Modbus (we recommend the ABB B23 112-100 with direct measurement for powers up to 40kW and the ABB B24 112-100 with transformer measurement with corresponding transformer coils for higher powers. Both can be read out well via Modbus RTU

Many intermediate meters output so-called S0 pulses (e.g. 1000 pulses per kWh). The cFos Charging Manager can also evaluate these pulses per counter using a USB FTDI adapter

By recording consumption and generation, the cFos Charging Manager always knows how much charging power to distribute to the EVSEs in use. You can assign different priorities to the individual EVSEs. The available charging power is first distributed to the EVSEs of higher priority and the remaining power is then distributed to the EVSEs of lower priority. This way you can, for example, quickly recharge emergency vehicles while long parked users are "refuelled" during the day

The prioritization scheme also supports the temporary deactivation of EVSEs if the minimum charging power is not reached. In addition, the phase symmetry is monitored to prevent individual phases from being loaded beyond the level prescribed by the VDE during single-phase charging

Charging rules

Several charging rules can be configured per user and per EVSE, which determine the charging performance according to certain criteria. This allows you to configure e.g. certain times when the charging power is limited

Furthermore, the charging power can be changed depending on a switching input, for example, if the energy supplier signals certain tariffs by doing so. Another possibility is to control the charging power depending on the available generation capacity of a solar system

Material list

  • Wall boxes and cabling
  • 1 Raspberry PI 3 or 4 plus power supply unit or Windows PC
  • One USB <-> RS485 adapter (FTDI, virtual COM port) per Modbus RTU
  • Intermediate counter
  • Additional FTDI adapters for S0 counters
  • additional RFID readers for cFos Charging Manager (may require additional Raspberry PI)

Prerequisite is that the cFos Charging Manager is connected to the Internet and can be reached from "outside".

cFos Charging Manager prices

  • Non-commercial licences for private use (also owner associations, for installations with a maximum of 5 charging points):
    1-5 charging points: 58.31 Euro (incl. 9.31 Euro VAT) per charging point
    Charging points with cFos Charging Controller as Modbus device are free.
  • Commercial license per charging point: Starting at 79,- EURO + VAT

Detailed price list for the cFos Charging Manager and hardware kits

System requirements

  • Windows 10 or Raspberry Pi 3 or 4 with permanent Internet connection

Documentation

documentation/documentation-links.htm

Details for the network operator

Manufacturer / TypecFos eMobility / cFos Powerbrain 11kW (22kW)
Number of charging pointsDepending on how many EVSEs you use - one charging point per EVSE
Number of identical charging devicesDepending on how many EVSEs you use
Max. grid demand power in kVA11 kVA or 22kVA
Max. grid feed-in power in kVA0 kVA
Control range of charging power kVA to kVA6 kVA - 22kVA
Active power controllable (yes / no)Yes
Type of charge (AC or DC)AC
Alternating current or three-phase currentAC for 1-phase connection, three-phase for 3-phase connection (controlled by the car's charging equipment)

Manufacturer's declaration

Download manufacturer's declaration (PDF/German)

cFos Charging Manager

cFos Charging Manager

Der cFos Charging Manager richtet sich an Betreiber von Parkplätzen, die mit Wallboxen zum Laden von Elektroautos ausgestattet werden sollen. Ziel ist es den einzelnen Elektroautos unter Berücksichtigung der verfügbaren Gesamtleistung soviel Ladeleistung wie möglich zu Verfügung zu stellen - ohne die vorhandene Hausanschlußleistung erhöhen zu müssen.

Bisherige Lösungen sind teuer und meist auf einen bestimmten Anbieter von Wallboxen beschränkt.

Der cFos Charging Manager erlaubt Ihre Ladeinfrastruktur nach Ihren Wünschen aufzubauen. Hierzu unterstützt cFos Charging Manager eine Reihe von Wallboxen unterschiedlicher Hersteller. Wir arbeiten permanent daran, die Liste der unterstützten Wallboxen ständig zu erweitern.

Um Ihre Ladeinfrastruktur zu planen, wählen Sie als erstes die gewünschten Wallboxen aus. Bei großen Anlagen sollten die einzelnen Wallboxen mögichst günstig sein, damit die Gesamtkosten überschaubar bleiben. Daher unterstützt der cFos Charging Manager auch günstige Modelle und stellt eventuell fehlende Funktionalität der Wallboxen dann anderweitig zur Verfügung.

Jetzt den cFos Charging Manager kostenlos testen!

cFos Charging Manager herunterladen - Version 0.0

Fragen und Antworten zu cFos Power Brain Wallbox, cFos Power Brain und cFos Charging Manager

Szenarien

Img Einfamilienhaus mit Solaranlage

Einfamilienhaus mit Solaranlage

1-2 Wallboxen, Charging Agent, Zwischenzähler zum Hausverbrauch-Messen, S0 Zähler für Wallbox Verbrauch messen

1 Wallbox mit 22kW und Durchlauferhitzer würde die vorhandene Hausanschlussleistung überbuchen. Dank Lademanagement wird die Ladeleistung für das Auto heruntergefahren, wenn jemand duscht oder kocht. Bei 2 Wallboxen würde die Ladeleistung auf beide Autos verteilt. Solarstrom wird tagsüber zum Laden der Autos verwendet.

Img Garage 50 Parkplätze

Garage 50 Parkplätze

mit Wallboxen und zentralem Wandlerzähler (Modbus zum Raspberry PI) in einem Mehrfamilienhaus.

An mehreren Stellen sind in der Garage RFID Leser aufgebaut, die mit dem cFos Charging Manager kommunizieren.

Unterstützte Wallboxen

(*) Wir haben den cFos Charging Manager während des OCPP Juli 2020 Plugfests auf Kompatibilität getestet. Wenn Sie sicherstellen wollen, dass Ihr OCPP Gerät mit dem cFos Charging Manager funktioniert, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte für einen kostenlosen Ferntest.

Die Wahl der Wallbox bestimmt die Vernetzung, wobei auch Mischbestückung und Nachrüsten Wallboxen anderer Hersteller mögich sind. Sie sind also nicht auf einen Wallbox-Hersteller angewiesen!

Bei OCPP und Keba besteht die Vernetzung typischerweise aus Ethernet-Verkabelung. go-e und SMARTFOX verwenden WLAN. EVracing (Stark-in-Strom) und SmartEVSE benötigen eine 2-Draht Modbus RTU Verkabelung. Der cFos Charging Manager kann gleichzeitig mit Ethernet, WLAN und über Modbus RTU kommunizieren.

Abrechnung und Authentisierung

OCPP-Wallboxen, sowie Keba, go-e und SMARTFOX haben eingebaute Stromzähler, die der cFos Charging Manager auslesen und die verbrauchten Kilowattstunden zur Abrechnung zur Verfügung stellen kann. Bei den Wallboxen mit Controller von EVracing und SmartEVSE müssen Sie einen eigenen Zähler zur Verfügung stellen. Hier bietet sich der ABB B23 112-100 pro Wallbox an, der per Modbus RTU verkabelt wird. Wir empfehlen einen eigenen Modbus für die Vernetzung der Zwischenzähler zu verlegen.

Zur Authentisierung haben OCPP Wallboxen typischerweise einen RFID Leser. Auch die go-e Home+ Mobile, SMARTFOX Car Charger und die meisten Modelle der keba c- und x-Serie haben einen eigenen RFID Leser. In diesem Falle lernen Sie diesen Wallboxen neue RFID Karten ein. Dann prüfen diese Wallboxen die RFID Karte und schalten den Ladevorgang selbstätig frei. Der cFos Charging Manager bleibt dabei über den Ladevorgang informiert und kann die Ladeleistung regeln.

Für Wallboxen ohne eigenen RFID Leser kann die Freigabe über ein Web-Interface des cFos Charging Managers mittels Eingabe einer PIN erfolgen. Sie können an den cFos Charging Manager auch einen RFID Leser anschließen bzw. ihn mit einem oder mehreren RFID Lesern vernetzen. Der cFos Charging Manager übernimmt dann die Autorisierung und Freigabe der Wallboxen. Auch ein Mischbetrieb von Wallboxen mit und ohne RFID Leser ist möglich.

Regelung der Ladeleistung

Der cFos Charging Manager versucht, die im Gebäude installierte maximale Anschlussleistung möglich gut auf die zu ladenden Elektroautos zu verteilen.
Hierbei errechnet der cFos Charging Manager die jeweils von Sekunde zu Sekunde zur Verfügung stehende Ladeleistung wie folgt:

Um den Verbrauch (und Erzeugung) zu erfassen, müssen Modbus-fähige Zwischenzähler installiert werden:
Entweder Sie installieren für jeden Verbraucher und Erzeuger einen Zwischenzähler oder Sie installieren einen zentralen Zähler am Hausanschluss. In beiden Fällen liest der cFos Charging Manager die Zähler über Modbus aus (wir empfehlen für Leistungen bis 40kW den ABB B23 112-100 mit Direktmessung und für größere Leistungen den ABB B24 112-100 mit Wandlermessung mit entsprechenden Wandlerspulen. Beide lassen sich gut per Modbus RTU auslesen.

Viele Zwischenzähler geben sogenannte S0 Pulse aus (z..B. 1000 Pulse pro kWh). Diese kann der cFos Charging Manager auch mit Hilfe eines USB FTDI Adapters pro Zähler auswerten.

Durch die Erfassung von Verbrauch und Erzeugung hat der cFos Charging Manager jederzeit die Information, wieviel Ladeleistung auf die in Benutzung befindlichen Wallboxen zu verteilen ist. Hierbei können Sie den einzelnen Wallboxen unterschiedliche Prioritäten zuweisen. Die verfügbare Ladeleistung wird zuerst auf die Wallboxen höherer Priorität verteilt und die übrigbleibende dann an die Wallboxen niedrigerer Priorität verteilt. So können Sie z.B. Einsatzfahrzeuge schnell wieder aufladen, während lange parkende Nutzer über den Tag "betankt" werden.

Das Priorisierungsschema unterstützt auch das vorübergehende Abschalten von Wallboxen, falls die minimale Ladeleistung unterschritten wird. Asserdem gibt es eine Überwachung der Phasen-Symetrie, um zu verhindern, dass bei einphasigem Laden einzelne Phasen über das von der VDE vorschriebene Maß belastet werden.

Lade-Regeln

Pro Benutzer und pro Wallbox lassen sich mehrere Lade-Regeln konfigurieren, die nach bestimmten Kriterien die Lade-Leistung bestimmen. Hiermit kann man z.B. bestimmte Zeiten konfigurieren, zu denen die Ladeleistung begrenzt ist.

Außerdem kann die Ladeleistung abhängig von einem Schalteingang geändert werden, etwa wenn der Energielieferant dadurch bestimmte Tarife signalisiert. Eine weitere Möglichkeit ist die Steuerung der Ladeleistung in Abhängigkeit vom verfügbarer Erzeugungsleistung einer Solaranlage.

Materialliste

  • Wallboxen und Verkabelung
  • 1 Raspberry PI 3 oder 4 plus Netzteil oder Windows PC
  • Pro Modbus RTU je ein USB <-> RS485 Adapter (FTDI, virtueller COM Port)
  • Zwischenzähler
  • weitere FTDI Adapter für S0-Zähler
  • weitere RFID Leser für cFos Charging Manager (ggf. weitere Raspberry PI erforderlich)

Voraussetzung ist, dass der cFos Charging Manager mit dem Internet verbunden und von "außen" erreichbar ist.

cFos Charging Manager Preise

  • Nicht-kommerzielle Lizenzen für private Nutzung (auch Eigentümergemeinschaften, für Anlagen mit maximal 5 Ladepunkten):
    1-5 Ladepunkte: 58,31 Euro (inkl. 9,31 Euro MwSt.) pro Ladepunkt
    Ladepunkte mit cFos Power Brain Wallbox als Modbus-Gerät sind gratis.
  • Kommerzielle Lizenz pro Ladepunkt: Ab 79,- Euro + MwSt

Detaillierte Preisliste für den cFos Charging Manager und Hardware-Kits

Systemvoraussetzungen

  • Windows 10 oder Raspberry Pi 3 oder 4 mit permanenter Internetverbindung

Dokumentation

documentation/documentation-links.htm

Angaben für den Netzbetreiber

Hersteller / TypcFos eMobility / cFos Powerbrain 11kW (22kW)
Anzahl der LadepunkteAbhängig davon, wie viele Wallboxen Sie einsetzen - pro Wallbox ein Ladepunkt
Anzahl baugleicher LadeeinrichtungenAbhängig davon, wie viele Wallboxen Sie einsetzen
Max. Netzbezugsleistung in kVA11 kVA bzw. 22kVA
Max. Netzeinspeiseleistung in kVA0 kVA
Regelbereich der Ladeleistung kVA bis kVA6 kVA - 22kVA
Wirkleistung steuerbar (ja / nein)Ja
Art der Ladung (AC oder DC)AC
Wechselstrom oder DrehstromWechselstrom bei 1-phasigem Anschluss, Drehstrom bei 3-phasigem Anschluss (wird durch die Ladeeinrichtung des Autos gesteuert)

Herstellererklärung

Herstellererklärung als PDF herunterladen