Apartment house with 13 parties and underground car park

Figure Connection and charging infrastructure
Apartment building with 13 parties (living space) and 13 parking spaces in underground car park. Hot water preparation via central heating, therefore house connection capacity 55kW. 70kWp solar system (PV) with feed-in to busbar.

13 EVSEs of 22kW each connected to the busbar. This means that 55kW house connection power plus up to 52kW photovoltaic power minus the house consumption of all flats / general electricity is available. Thus, the underground garage can draw a maximum of 55kW plus 52kW, i.e. the supply cable for the distribution cabinet is designed for a good 125kW. A load measurement by the energy supplier in the house showed that the house predominantly draws a power of 1.5kW to 5kW. Only at peak times (approx. 16-19 o'clock) can a power demand of approx. 20kW arise. Therefore, no increase in the house connection value and associated costs was necessary.

The distribution cabinet contains a circuit breaker and a type A RCD for each EVSE. The EVSEs have integrated DC fault protection, which is why more expensive RCDs are not necessary. The EVSEs are wired in a star configuration.

A central bidirectional grid reference meter at the house connection point measures the load of the house connection. This is an ABB B24 transformer meter (Modbus) with transformer coils in a NH distributor. Alternatively, an Eastron SDM630 MCT could be used. This way, the cFos Charging Manager sees the consumption of all flats, as well as the feed-in of the solar system, and can regulate the charging power down during peak times.

For each EVSE there is a calibrated ABB B23 meter (Modbus) for billing purposes and to determine the phase usage of the charging electric cars. Alternatively, Eastron SDM72DM-V2, Orno WE 516/517 or YTL DTS353F-2 could be used. The meters are installed in the EVSEs, but could also be installed in the distribution cabinet.

Every year, the meter readings are read in the web interface of the cFos Charging Manager and the service charge statement is created for the car park tenants. Users can read the meter display on site at any time. In the cFos Charging Manager, the administrator can download a log file of all transactions as a CSV file, which can then be further processed with Excel, for example. Optionally, there is also a transaction log per user. For each charging process, the start and end time, charged kWh, total consumption and the RFID of the user are logged.

Load management takes place via the cFos Charging Manager on a Raspberry PI. All EVSEs are cFos 22kW EVSEs connected via two-wire (Modbus RTU). Alternatively or in a mixed configuration, ABL eMH1, Heidelberg Energy Control or EVSE with the EVRacing WB DIN Modbus controller (e.g. Stark in Strom) could also be used. A mixed configuration of these devices is also possible.

The Raspberry PI is connected to the internet via the router in the house. Alternatively, it could also be connected to an LTE router. There are 2 modbus adapters on the Raspberry, with which 2 separate modbuses can be realised. Because of the cable lengths of approx. 60m, twisted cables (e.g. wire pairs of Cat5 or Cat7 cables) and terminating resistors at the bus ends are recommended. To protect the Raspberry, the RS 485 adapters are operated with USB isolators. All meters (1x ABB B24 + 13x ABB B23) are located on bus 1, all cFos Power Brain Wallboxs are located on bus 2.

Parallel to the two Modbus RTU connections, you could also lay LAN to all parking spaces and then use EVSEs that are operated with OCPP or Modbus TCP, such as ABB Terra AC 22, ABL eMH2, Innogy eBox Professional, Keba KeContact P30 c- or x-series, Webasto Live, Mennekes Amtron, Wallbe Eco. With additional WLAN coverage using WLAN access points, the cFos Power Brain Wallboxs could also be connected in Modbus TCP mode, as well as other EVSEs with WLAN, such as go-e charger. Here, a reserve WLAN access point was installed in the garage to simplify software updates of the cFos Power Brain Wallboxs.

For charging authorisation, a second Raspberry PI with USB RFID reader for 13.56Mhz Mifare cards is installed at the entrance to the underground car park. This allows EVSEs to be operated that do not have an RFID reader. 13.56 Mhz is practical because many "cheque cards" that you have with you anyway support this standard (except EC and credit cards). But you could also use an RFID reader with 125 kHz (this is often used in connection with alarm systems). The cFos Charging Manager takes into account the RFID transmitted by the EVSE, so a central reader is not absolutely necessary.

In the event of a load management failure, a 3-minute fail-safe timer is activated on all cFos Power Brain Wallboxs, i.e. the EVSEs switch to the minimum charging current after 3 minutes of communication failure so that no fuses are triggered in the event of a failure.

Configuration of the cFos Charging Manager

Max. Total power (W): 55000 Power reserve (W): 5000 This is subtracted from the 55kW as a control reserve Max. Total EVSE power (W): 125000 This corresponds to the strength of the line from the busbar to the garage. It is desired to use the peak power of the solar system for charging in addition to the house connection power, which is why the line was dimensioned in this way. The cFos Charging Manager therefore ensures that neither the house connection nor this supply line is overbooked.

USB1 of the Raspberry PI has the Modbus RTU cabling of the EVSE. This means that COM1 is entered here as the address. Since the cFos Power Brain Wallboxs are set to 9600 baud, 8 data bits, no parity and 1 stop bit, the address for all is COM1,9600,8,n,1. A separate Modbus ID must be assigned for each EVSE. For simplicity, the Modbus ID is equal to the parking space number: 1,2,3,...The same COM parameters and the Modbus IDs are entered in the respective EVSE. The load management of the EVSE is deactivated, as it is taken over by the Raspberry here. In the cFos Charging Manager on the Raspberry, enter the same Modbus IDs accordingly and "cFos Power Brain" as the device type.

USB2 of the Raspberry PI has the wiring of the ABB B23 meters and the ABB B24 transformer meter. Here, 9600,8,n,1 is also set in the display of the meters and the parking space number is assigned as the Modbus ID. There can be no collision of Modbus IDs with the EVSEs, as these are located on the other bus. The ABB B24 is also set to 9600,8,n,1 and the Modbus ID is 100. This must be set both in the meters and in the cFos Charging Manager, i.e. the address is COM2,9600,8,n,1 and the Modbus ID is 1,2,3,... and 100. select "ABB B23/24" as the device type. All ABB B23 meters are assigned the role "E-car consumption" and the ABB B24 the role "Mains supply", since it is installed at the mains transfer point.

Now all ABB B23 meters must be pinned to the EVSE in the configuration UI of the matching EVSE so that the cFos Charging Manager knows which meter belongs to which EVSE.

The cFos Charging Manager can query both buses in parallel, but can only poll all devices per bus one after the other. It is therefore better to limit yourself to 15-20 devices per bus and, if necessary, to connect further buses to the Raspberry using a USB RS 485 adapter.

Since individual cars may charge in single-phase or two-phase mode, all EVSEs should be installed with a phase rotation of 120 degrees to each other. This phase rotation can be communicated to the cFos Power Brain Wallbox in the respective EVSE setting. This enables the Charging Manager to detect phase imbalances and limit the charging current. It can also take into account, for the benefit of the charging cars, if several single-phase cars are charging on different phases (in relation to the house connection).

Since meters are used for all EVSEs that output the currents of individual phases separately, the phase utilisation of the EVSEs can be set to "Determine", which provides optimum utilisation of the available power.

In order to be able to see certain powers in the web interface at a glance, the following "software meters" were configured in the cFos Charging Manager with the "Display" role: A virtual meter for the available charging power "Power avail. for EVSEs" a virtual meter for the actually used charging power "Consumed EVSE Power"

In addition, the solar system is integrated, which is actually not necessary, as there is a grid reference meter: the inverters of the solar system as a meter (here SMA Sunny Tripower) a virtual meter for the sum of the solar power "Produced Power"

Here is an overview of the different types of meters.

Charging point costs: Since cFos Power Brain Wallboxs were used, all charging points are free of charge. For charging points with other EVSE you need a licence per charging point. Here is the price list. There are no further "subscription" fees.

Note: A single cFos Power Brain Wallbox can operate up to 25 devices as cFos Charging Manager. In such cases, a Raspberry Pi is not necessary.

Mehrfamilienhaus mit 13 Parteien und Tiefgarage

Abbildung Anschluss und Ladeinfrastruktur
Mehrfamilienhaus mit 13 Parteien (Wohnraum) und 13 Parkplätzen in Tiefgarage. Warmwasserbereitung über Zentralheizung, daher Hausanschlussleistung 55kW. 70kWp Solaranlage (PV) mit Einspeisung auf Sammelschiene.

13 Wallboxen a 22kW angeschlossen an die Sammelschiene. Es steht also 55kW Hausanschlussleistung zzgl. bis zu 52kW Photovoltaikleistung abzgl. Hausverbrauch aller Wohnungen / Allgemeinstrom zur Verfügung. Somit kann die Tiefgarage maximal 55kW plus 52kW ziehen, d.h. das Zuleitungskabel für den Verteilerschrank ist für gut 125kW ausgelegt. Eine Lastmessung vom Energieversorger im Haus ergab, dass das Haus überwiegend eine Leistung von 1,5kW bis 5kW zieht. Nur in Spitzenzeiten (ca. 16-19 Uhr) kann sich ein Leistungsbedarf von ca. 20kW ergeben. Daher war keine Erhöhung des Hausanschlusswertes und damit verbunden Kosten nötig.

In dem Verteilerschrank befinden sich für jede Wallbox ein Leitungsschutzschalter und ein Typ A FI. Die Wallboxen haben einen integrierten DC Fehlerschutz, weswegen teurere FIs nicht nötig sind. Die Wallboxen sind sternförmig verkabelt.

Ein Zentraler bidirektionaler Netzbezugszähler am Hausanschlusspunkt misst die Belastung des Hausanschluss. Dieser ist ein ABB B24 Wandlerzähler (Modbus) mit Wandlerspulen in einem NH-Verteiler. Alternativ könnte ein Eastron SDM630 MCT eingesetzt werden. So sieht der cFos Charging Manager den Verbrauch aller Wohnungen, sowie die Einspeisung der Solaranlage und kann in Spitzenzeiten die Ladeleistung herunterregeln.

Für jede Wallbox gibt es einen geeichten ABB B23 Zähler (Modbus) zu Abrechnungszwecken und zur Ermittlung der Phasennutzung der ladenden Elektroautos. Alternativ könnten auch Eastron SDM72DM-V2, Orno WE 516/517 oder YTL DTS353F-2 eingesetzt werden. Die Zähler sind in den Wallboxen eingebaut, könnten aber auch im Verteilerschrank installiert werden.

Jährlich werden die Zählerstände im Webinterface des cFos Charging Managers abgelesen und die Nebenkostenabrechnung für die Parkplatzmieter erstellt. Die Nutzer können vor Ort jederzeit das Display des Zählers ablesen. Im cFos Charging Manager kann der Administrator eine Log-Datei aller Transaktionen als CSV Datei herunterladen, die dann z.B. mit Excel weiterverarbeitbar ist. Optional gibt es auch ein Transaktionslog pro Benutzer. Pro Ladevorgang wird Start- und Endzeitpunkt, geladene kWh, Gesamtverbrauch und die RFID des Benutzers protokolliert.

Lastmanagement findet über den cFos Charging Manager auf einen Raspberry PI statt. Alle Wallboxen sind per Zweidraht (Modbus RTU) angebundene cFos Power Brain Wallboxen 22kW. Alternativ und oder in Mischbetückung könnten auch ABL eMH1, Heidelberg Energy Control oder Wallboxen mit dem EVRacing WB DIN Modbus controller (z.B. Stark in Strom) eingesetzt werden. Auch eine Mischbestückung dieser Geräte ist möglich.

Der Raspberry PI ist mit dem im Haus befindlichen Router mit dem Internet verbunden. Alternativ könnte er auch ein einen LTE Router angeschlossen werden. Am Raspberry befinden sich 2 Modbus Adapter, mit denen 2 getrennte Modbusse realisiert werden. Wegen der Kabellängen von ca. 60m empfehlen sich gedrillte Leitungen (z.B. Adernpaare von Cat5 oder Cat7 Kabeln) und Abschlusswiderstände an den Bus-Enden. Zum Schutz des Raspberry werden die RS 485 Adapter mit USB Isolatoren betrieben. An Bus 1 befinden sich alle Zähler (1x ABB B24 + 13x ABB B23), an Bus 2 befinden sich alle cFos Power Brain Wallboxen.

Parallel zu den beiden Modbus RTU Verbindungen könnte man noch zu allen Parkplätzen LAN verlegen und dann Wallboxen, die mit OCPP oder Modbus TCP betrieben werden, verwenden, wie z.B. ABB Terra AC 22, ABL eMH2, Innogy eBox Professional, Keba KeContact P30 c- oder x-series, Webasto Live, Mennekes Amtron, Wallbe Eco verwenden. Bei zusätzlicher WLAN-Ausleuchtung mittels WLAN Access Points könnte man die cFos Power Brain Wallboxen auch im Modbus TCP Betrieb anschliessen, sowie andere Wallboxen mit WLAN einbinden, wie go-e charger. Hier wurde ein Reserve WLAN Access Point in der Garage installiert, um Software-Updates der cFos Power Brain Wallboxen zu vereinfachen.

Zur Ladeautorisierung ist am Eingang der Tiefgarage ein zweiter Raspberry PI mit USB RFID Leser für 13,56Mhz Mifare Karten angebracht. Dies erlaubt Wallboxen zu betreiben, die keinen RFID Leser haben. 13,56 Mhz ist praktisch, weil viele "Scheckkarten", die man sowieso dabei hat diesen Standard unterstützen (ausgenommen EC- und Kreditkarten). Man könnte aber auch einen RFID Leser mit 125kHz verwenden (das wird oft in Verbindung mit Alarmanlagen verwendet). Der cFos Charging Manager berücksichtigt die von der Wallbox übertragene RFID, so dass ein zentraler Leser nicht unbedingt erforderlich ist.

Für den Fall eines Ausfalls des Lastmanagement ist bei allen cFos Power Brain Wallboxen ein 3-Minuten fail-safe timer aktiviert, d.h. die Wallboxen gehen ab 3 Minuten Kommunikationsausfall auf den Mindestladestrom, damit bei einem Ausfall möglichst keine Sicherungen ausgelöst werden.

Konfiguration des cFos Charging Managers

Max. Gesamtleistung (W): 55000 Leistungsreserve (W): 5000 Diese wird von den 55kW als Regelreserve abgezogen Max. Gesamt-Wallboxleistung (W): 125000 Dies entspricht der Stärke der Leitung von der Sammelschiene in die Garage. Es ist gewünscht, die Spitzenleistung der Solaranlage zusätzlich zur Hausanschlussleistung zum Laden zu verwenden, weswegen die Leitung so dimensioniert wurde. Der cFos Charging Manager sorgt also dafür, dass weder der Hausanschluss noch diese Zuleitung überbucht wird.

USB1 des Raspberry PI hat die Modbus RTU Verkabelung der Wallboxen. D.h. als Adresse wird hier COM1 eingetragen. Da die cFos Power Brain Wallboxen auf 9600 Baud, 8 Datenbits, keine Parität und 1 Stopbit eingestellt sind, lautet die Adresse für alle COM1,9600,8,n,1. Für jede Wallbox muss eine eigene Modbus ID vergeben werden. Der Einfachheit halber ist die Modbus ID gleich der Parkplatz-Nummer: 1,2,3,...Die gleichen COM Parameter und die Modbus IDs werden in den jeweiligen Wallboxen eingetragen. Das Lastmanagement der Wallbox wird deaktiviert, da es hier vom Raspberry übernommen wird. Im cFos Charging Manager auf dem Raspberry trägt man die gleichen Modbus IDs entsprechend ein und als Geräte-Typ "cFos Power Brain".

USB2 des Raspberry PI hat die Verkabelung der ABB B23 Zähler und des ABB B24 Wandlerzählers. Hier wird im Display der Zähler ebenfalls 9600,8,n,1 eingestellt und als Modbus ID die Parkplatznummer vergeben. Es kann keine Kollision von Modbus IDs mit den Wallboxen auftreten, da sich diese ja auf dem anderen Bus befinden. Der ABB B24, erhält ebenfalls 9600,8,n,1 und als Modbus ID die 100. Das muss sowohl in den Zählern, als auch im cFos Charging Manager eingestellt werden, d.h. Adresse ist COM2,9600,8,n,1 und Modbus ID 1,2,3,... und 100. Als Geräte-Typ wählt man "ABB B23/24". Als Rolle erhalten alle ABB B23 Zähler "Verbrauch E-Auto" und der ABB B24 die Rolle "Netzbezug", da er ja am Netzübergabepunkt installiert ist.

Nun müssen alle ABB B23 Zähler im Konfigurations-UI der passenden Wallbox an die Wallbox angeheftet werden, damit der cFos Charging Manager weiss, welcher Zähler zu welcher Wallbox gehört.

Der cFos Charging Manager kann beide Busse parallel abfragen, kann aber pro Bus immer nur alle Geräte nacheinander pollen. Daher sollte man sich pro Bus lieber auf 15-20 Geräte beschränken und ggf. weitere Busse an den Raspberry mittels USB RS 485 Adapter anzuschliessen.

Da einzelne Autos evtl. einphasig oder zweiphasig laden, sollten alle Wallboxen jeweils mit einer Phasenrotation von 120 Grad zueinander installiert werden. Diese Phasenrotation kann man dem cFos Charging Manager in der jeweiligen Wallbox-Einstellung mitteilen. Dadurch kann der Charging Manager Phasenschieflagen erkennen und den Ladestrom begrenzen. Er kann ebenfalls zugunsten der ladenden Autos berücksichtigen, wenn mehrere einphasige Autos auf unterschiedlichen Phasen (bezogen auf den Hausanschluss) laden.

Da für alle Wallboxen Zähler verwendet werden, die die Ströme einzelner Phasen getrennt ausgeben, kann die Phasennutzung der Wallboxen auf "Ermitteln" gestellt werden, was optimale Nutzung der vorhanden Leistung bringt.

Um auf einen Blick bestimmte Leistungen im Webinterface sehen zu können, wurden noch mit Rolle "Anzeige" folgende "Software-Zähler" im cFos Charging Manager konfiguriert: Ein virtueller Zähler für die verfügbare Ladeleistung "Power avail. for EVSEs" ein virtueller Zähler für die tatsächlich genutze Ladeleistung "Consumed EVSE Power"

Außerdem ist die Solaranlage eingebunden, was eigentlich nicht nötig ist, da es ja einen Netzbezugszähler gibt: die Wechselrichter der Solaranlage als Zähler (hier SMA Sunny Tripower) ein virtueller Zähler für die Summe der Solarleistung "Produced Power"

Hier eine Übersicht über die verschiendenen Zählertypen.

Kosten für Ladepunkte: Da cFos Power Brain Wallboxen verwendet wurden, sind alle Ladepunkte kostenlos. Für Ladepunkte mit andere Wallboxen benötigt man pro Ladepunkt eine Lizenz. Hier die Preisliste. Es fallen keine weiteren "Abo"-Gebühren an.

Hinweis: Eine einzelne cFos Power Brain Wallbox kann bis zu 25 Geräte als cFos Charging Manager betreiben. In solchen Fällen ist ein Raspberry Pi nicht nötig.